November 5-7 2020
  • Days

  • :
  • Hrs

  • :
  • Min


CAST Steering Committee

Comprised of a team of science educators from large urban areas and rural communities across the state of Texas, the Conference for the Advancement of Science Teaching (CAST) Steering Committee was formed in early 2020 as a means of bringing together individuals with different perspectives and unique experiences to design programming, select keynote and featured speakers and plan social, networking and field course events.

Terry White | Chair

Fort Bend ISD           



Dr. Melissa Gable | Recording Secretary

Crosby ISD   


Workshops & Sessions

Laura Lee McLeod | Co-Chair

Frisco ISD


Dr. Karen Jacobs | Co-Chair

Alief ISD


Field Courses

Lisa Felske | Chair

Harris County Department of Education


Jennifer Roberts | Co-Chair

Spring Branch ISD


Juliana Dominguez | Co-Chair

Spring Branch ISD



Charles Zemanek III | Chair

Nacogdoches ISD

Special Events

Katherine McCaffrey | Co-Chair

Klein ISD

Gelyn Roble | Co-Chair

Alief ISD


Patsy Magee | Chair

Beaumont ISD


Donald Burken | Chair

Spring Branch ISD

Faced with the uncertainty of COVID-19, the Steering Committee had to think differently in terms of what this year's CAST would look like and how it would best meet the needs of science educators in Texas. Assessing the key elements that are important to CAST participants, committee members partnered with the staff of the Science Teachers Association of Texas (STAT) to pivot and redesign CAST in a way that would not have been possible with a face-to-face conference. The end result is CAST Reimagined 2020, a fully virtual, innovative event experience that is highly accessible, more affordable and just as exciting as ever.

Back to Top