• website hero

Countdown to Women's Executive Forum™
  • Days

  • :
  • Hrs

  • :
  • Min

  • :
  • Sec

Woman of Influence™ Award

Congratulations Wendy-Jo Toyama, MBA, FASAE, CAE, Recipient of the 2024 Woman of Influence™ Award!
Wendy-Jo Toyama
Wendy-Jo Toyama, MBA, FASAE, CAE serves as the Chief Executive Officer at the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM), a client of the Association Management Center.
She embodies a profound commitment to association management's transformative power, a characteristic that’s evident throughout her contribution to the association community. Her career journey aligns with her values of creativity, service, courage, justice, and family. Passionate about mentorship, Wendy-Jo guides emerging professionals and champions diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI), notably reshaping the AAHPM landscape through the creation of the Next Gen Scholar for DEI in Hospice and Palliative Medicine, amplifying underrepresented voices and envisioning a more inclusive future.

Driven by a fervor for innovation and DEI, Wendy-Jo fearlessly challenges the status quo within associations. Her advocacy extends beyond AAHPM, where she actively fosters platforms for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) professionals, advocating for their visibility and advancement. Committed to nurturing talent and offering personalized support, her efforts range from facilitating mentorship connections to providing invaluable guidance on resumes, interviews, and networking, ensuring each individual's unique journey is empowered within the dynamic realm of association management. Wendy-Jo epitomizes the essence of giving back, aiming to create a more inclusive, empowered future for association professionals across diverse backgrounds.

Read the full press release here

Wendy-Jo was recognized and celebrated at the 2024 Women's Executive Forum™ on March 15, 2024.

About the Woman of Influence Award

At the heart of every thriving industry, there are exceptional individuals who go above and beyond to create positive change and propel progress. The Woman of Influence™ Award stands as a beacon of recognition for these outstanding women association leaders, whose dedication and contributions have truly shaped the landscape of association management. By fostering innovation, embracing challenges, and implementing transformative strategies, these exceptional women have paved the way for a bolder, brighter future.

A Woman of Influence:
  • Has a proven track record of significant contributions leading to positive, transformative, and lasting impact in association management.  
  • Is recognized as an exceptional association/nonprofit professional who has advanced their organization's mission.
  • Consistently pushes the boundaries of convention, introducing innovative ideas and practices that challenge the status quo. 
  • Doesn't just achieve personal success but actively works to advance the growth and development of others through engaging in mentorship, coaching, and service, fostering an environment of empowerment and learning. 
  • Exemplifies a strong commitment to giving back by contributing their time, expertise, and resources to uplift colleagues and emerging professionals.
  • Openly promotes value differences and creates an environment that is comfortable, inclusive, and empowering.
  • Inspires others of the tangible possibilities achievable through dedication, hard work, and a commitment to excellence.
  • Drives a broader discussion about equality, diversity, and the pivotal role women play in shaping the association industry as a catalyst of change.

Powered by: 

Previous Woman of Influence Award Winners
2023: Jacqualine Price Osafo, MBA, CAE, Executive Director, Society of American Archivists
2022: Robin Rone, Executive Director, ARA International, and Head of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Smithbucklin
2021: Mary Lynn Fayoumi, CAE, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, President and CEO, HR Source
2020: Deborah H. Bowen, FACHE, CAE, President and CEO, American College of Healthcare Executives
2019: Kathleen T. O'Loughlin, DMD, MPH, Executive Director, American Dental Association
2018: Dawn Sweeney, FASAE, President and CEO, National Restaurant Association