2018 Honorees

Samuel B. Shapiro Award for Chief Staff Executive Achievement


The highest honor that Association Forum bestows on an association professional, the Samuel B. Shapiro Award for Chief Staff Executive Achievement, is presented to the chief staff executive (e.g. CEO, executive director, or equivalent level) for outstanding service and accomplishments in association/nonprofit management. The award is named after Samuel B. Shapiro, CAE, past chairman of Association Forum and the American Society of Association Executives. Recipients of this award have made outstanding accomplishments in their professional and personal lives.

The 2018-2019 Samuel B. Shapiro award

Deborah Bowen, FACHE, CAE

President and CEO
American College of Healthcare Executives

Sponsored by

John C. Thiel Distinguished Service Award
The John C. Thiel Distinguished Service Award is presented for outstanding service to the Association Forum by an individual association or supplier partner member. This award has been presented for exceptional, long-term, volunteer service to the Association Forum, primarily through committee service or similar contributions. “Unsung hero” or “above and beyond the call of duty” are two ways to describe past recipients. This award is named in memory of the late John C. Thiel, CAE, the Association Forum’s chairman-elect in 1990-91. In 2010, the Thiel Award was expanded to include both association professionals and supplier partners. In the past two years, a Thiel Award has been given to an association professional and supplier partner.

The 2018-2019 John C. Thiel award

Evan Williams, CAE, IOM

Director of Professional Services and Resources
Appraisal Institute

Sponsored byFlanders_horizontaal_naakt.jpg

Association Professional Achievement Award

The Association Professional Achievement Award is presented to an association professional member (not a CEO) for exemplary service and outstanding accomplishments in association management. This award reflects a high level of commitment to professional growth and personal pride in the association management industry.

The 2018-2019 Association Professional award

Kate Dockins, CAE

Vice President/Volunteer Leadership Development
Institute of Food Technologists

Sponsored by

Inspiring Leader Award

The Inspiring Leader Award is presented to an individual who has established a culture leading to employee satisfaction, motivation, engagement and achievement.

The 2018-2019 Inspiring Leader award

Pauli Undesser, BS, MS, MWS, CAE

Executive Director
Water Quality Association

Sponsored by


NEW! Welcoming Environment Organizational Award

The Welcoming Environment Organizational Award is awarded to an association that has demonstrated exemplary outcomes in providing an inclusive and welcoming environment and culture.

The 2018-2019 Welcoming Environment Organizational award

CCIM Institute

Sponsored by

The Association Forum Awards Program recognizes leaders and achievers for their noted accomplishments within the association industry.
Just ask past award winners. Winning an Association Forum award is an outstanding accomplishment and a great honor.

Back to Top